Before We Ask What a Spot-Check Inventory Is (Step Ten continued)

Before we ask what a spot-check inventory is, let’s look at the kind of setting in which such an inventory can do its work.

It is a spiritual axiom that every time we are disturbed, no matter what the cause, there is something wrong with us.  If somebody hurts us and we are sore, we are in the wrong also.

These are some of the most important words of the program of Alcoholics Anonymous for me.

And as soon as I had written those words, actually as I was writing those words, something happened in my house that made me angry.  Justifiably.

And that of course is the beauty of the words.  It is not for me to decide when my anger is justified and when it’s not.  It doesn’t matter.

Someone hurt me.  I am sore.  I am in the wrong.

Leave a comment