April 16, 2024 (this day)

This morning the topic at my meeting was “forgiving others.” I heard a point that really made me stop and think, and this is the idea that seeking justice is the opposite of forgiveness. In other words if what I’m looking for is justice, and that the person who wronged me or who I think is “wrong” make restitution or even feel remorse, I am not forgiving.

Most days in my life there are a group of people who I consider to be “wrong.” I’m volunteering for a local political campaign and in a very small way, pushing the agenda that I think is right. OK, that’s good! But my feelings about the people on the other side are not good. I feel they are voting against their own best interests, my best interests, and the best interests of the entire world. And I can’t forgive them.

AA calls me to try, and so I’ll think about this concept a little bit more today and maybe move another inch down the road toward enlightenment.

One thought on “April 16, 2024 (this day)

  1. Yes its important to forgive, take ownership of emotions, practice gratitude rather than resentments…but…if the others are trying to impose their way of thinking upon you and not respecting you and your beliefs, it becomes necessary to oppose them with honest outrage. The matters of policy difference are important, but not as much as the crude dismissal of everyone having different thoughts or ideas, which seems to be the only way this other group knows how to express themselves. Stay strong

Leave a comment