It Was Obviously Necessary to Raise the Bottom (Step One continued)

It was obviously necessary to raise the bottom the rest of us had hit to the point where it would hit them.  By going back in our drinking histories, we could show that years before we realized it we were out of control, that our drinking even then was no mere habit, that it was indeed the beginning of a fatal progression.

 

I was fortunate in that I realized practically right away that I was out of control, that it was no mere habit, and that it was the beginning of a fatal progression.  Very fortunate.  Even though I realized that, and sought out AA on my own, it still took me years to internalize it to the point where I could stop drinking.  But I never really had a time of good, carefree drinking.  I’m jealous of others who did, sometimes, but really it’s only appropriate, since I am an alcoholic.

And, because it’s on my mind, I’ll record here that I remember as a child hearing my uncle throwing up and heaving in the bathroom in the middle of the night.  I knew he had a problem before I even knew what such a problem was.

Leave a Reply

