Should His Own Image Be Too Awful (Step Three continued)

Should his own image in the mirror be too awful to contemplate (and it usually is), he might first take a look at the results normal people are getting from self-suffciency. Everywhere he sees people filled with anger and fear, society breaking up into warring fragments. Each fragment says to the others, “We are right and you are wrong.” Every such pressure group, if it is strong enough, self-righteously imposes its will upon the rest. And everywhere the same thing is being done on an individual basis. The sum of all this mighty effort is less peace and less brotherhood than before. The philosophy of self-sufficiency is not paying off. Plainly enough, it is a bone-crushing juggernaut whose final achievement is ruin.

Last night I was at a meeting where we discussed, among other things, miracles.  While recovery is a miracle, we said, there is work involved, so are the results miraculous?

I think so.  Even though I’ve known this for a very long time, I’m still amazed that the program of AA packages the wisdom of the ages into a form I can USE IN MY LIFE to stay sober.  I’m a sober alcoholic, and that is a miracle.  It is so rare, I am so blessed.

Part of the reason I stay sober over decades is that I can take just about any part of the program and apply it to my life to help me live better.  Yesterday, today, and tomorrow.  I’ve written about this American election of 2016 and how it distresses me.  This happened eight years ago, and, to a lesser extent, four years ago.  It happens to me every time, whether my candidate wins or loses.  I’m distressed that there are people on the “other” side, the side I see as clearly wrong.  I wish I was one of the people who don’t care much about politics.  I harbor bad feelings about people on the other side.  Even if they are in AA.

AA is my closest family in that if I don’t keep it intact, I won’t have any other family by blood or choice or anything.  I have got to interact with other alcoholics in recovery so that we can both live, and politics does not play into it.  Yet once I know the political feelings of a person, AA or not, it changes my mind about that person, for the good or for the bad.

And then there, in the program, is my answer.  For me, today, with less than a week to go before this awful election, it states an ideal that I am so far from achieving I think it would take a miracle to change my mind that much.

One thought on “Should His Own Image Be Too Awful (Step Three continued)

  1. A-men!
    I get about a meeting a week with my crazy schedule. I really enjoy planning it out. Thinking of catching a Sat am this weekend. I feel I need one more lately. Is it, like you say, election-based? Maybe. The football team I coach is on ESPN tonight. I think that could be it too.

Leave a Reply

