July 8, 2016 (this day)

IMG_0492I don’t have much to write about today.  I don’t comment on current events because I don’t now much about them.  I don’t watch or read news when I can avoid it.  I find the local news to be stressful in that it mostly has to do with fires and murders and other bad things that happen to people.  I feel, really, that I don’t do enough to improve the state of things.  I work with people who have multiple, severe disabilities.  That is not enough.

Regarding my program there are two things on my mind.  One is that I’ve tried to help a young lady who is worried about her daughter in a way that I used to worry about my daughter and, at times, my son.  I suggested to her that she give the issue several  quiet minutes a day.  I remember that as I worried about my daughter and dealt with her issues day to day, I tried all the time to keep gratitude up front.  My friend and I have some of the best resources in the world available to us.  We have great support systems and we have hope that our daughters will be independent and happy, at least some of the time.  Remembering these facts helped me get through.

My second issue is a character defect of mine I’ve been attacking.  Attacking!  Something has been bothering me, and I don’t know why, and I might at times even blame those pesky female hormones.  As I seek to overcome this character defect, at least as much as possible, I’ve looked up prayers about it and read about it and I keep deepening my understanding of it and resistance to it.  I want it to be removed, as much as that is possible, and I’m willing to work for that.

Leave a Reply

