June 15, 2016 (this day)

IMG_0518

I had to consult a calendar to know what day it is.  I’m on vacation!  These signs were leading the way to a meeting I tried to go to.  Carole and I scoped it out, but when only four or five men showed up for the meeting, we decided not to go.  Now we have no doubt that we would have been welcomed.  We know we would have been.  And I have no doubt that if either of us felt in danger of drinking, we would have gone.  But we didn’t feel that way.  The next night we found a bigger, mixed meeting, and we went there, and all was well.

Vacation is a huge stressor for me.  There are many things I “worry” about, and anxiety is maybe my biggest character defect.  There many things I like about vacation as well, and this one is turning out to be a beautiful one.  I still have a mother, grown children, and an old dog to leave at home, and they all have the desire and the means to get together while I’m gone.  My wife and I still want to travel together (still, after 19 years).  There’s no one I’d rather go with.  I hope she feels the same way.

AA can be a major activity for us on vacation.  I’m so fortunate to share this with my life partner.  It always makes me feel grateful that it’s everywhere I want to be.  It also makes me grateful for AA in my area, because I places I go never have as many people or meetings as my home town does.  AA away is always different, but the same.  As Carole and I were waiting to see if the second meeting would pan out, I started to read a story from the big book to her (against her will) just to give us some semblance of a meeting if it turned out to be just the two of us.  The story was by the man who started AA in Canada.  His drinking in 1924 was exactly the same as mine was in 1978.  He got sober, and so did I.  Miracles, both of us.

Leave a Reply

