Don’t Quit Before the Miracle

miracle is “an effect or extraordinary event in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause.”  Something like a recovery from an illness that has been diagnosed as fatal.  Like alcoholism.

“Don’t quit before the miracle” is something a person who is struggling in AA may hear.  Behind it is the hope and belief that continuing on in AA will bring about the miracle of recovery.  My recovery is a miracle.  I was on the brink of death from drinking too much, and I’ve now abstained for 32 years.  A miracle.

I have experienced another kind of miracle in the program.  For years I was driven to AA with the desperate hope that I could find sobriety there.  I needed to stop drinking and I needed the program to get me there, because I couldn’t stop without it, on my own.  But at some point, and I don’t know when, I came to want the program and the people and the meetings and the books.  Now, if another kind of miracle offered me sobriety without the program of AA, I wouldn’t take it.  I want the program now.  And that’s my second miracle, the one that keeps my coming back.  I also wouldn’t “cure” my alcoholism.  I’d keep it.  All of my happiness has come from there.

Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” ~2 Corinthians 12:7-10

3 thoughts on “Don’t Quit Before the Miracle

  1. Wow. Did you say 32 years? I’ve got to follow you, my dear. Having passed the 23 year mark, it’s difficult to find what would be an “Oldtimer” to me! (I suppose I’m “crusty” but don’t tell anyone.
    Sometimes I don’t want to twll how long I’ve been clean/sober, for fear of being looked up to. Do you feel that way?
    I agree with your post. AA has been a miraculous miracle for my entire family.

Leave a Reply

