May 7, 2016 (this day)

IMG_0165In honor of Mother’s Day, the tombstone of Bill Wilson’s grandmother, the woman who mostly raised him.  I meant to put his mother’s stone up but chose this one by mistake and I thought, why not?  If it’s always the mother’s fault (which I think it always is), maybe I owe my life to these two women.

I marked 32 years sober last week.  As one impertinent young person in the program put it, “All of my life, and then some.”  Yes I’ve been sober longer than some people in the rooms have been alive.

I’ve been sober longer than my kids have been alive, and that is one of the supreme miracles of my life.  For Mother’s Day I have what I want, and that is children.  They’ve never been endangered by my drinking and for that I am grateful.

And as I like to tell some of my relapsing friends, it’s never too late to give your children a sober mother.

One thought on “May 7, 2016 (this day)

Leave a Reply

