Every A.A. Meeting is an Assurance (Step 2 continued)

Few indeed are the practicing alcoholics who have any idea how irrational they are, or seeing their irrationality, can bear to face it. Some will be willing to term themselves “problem drinkers,” but cannot endure the suggestion that they are in fact mentally ill. They are abetted in this blindness by a world which does not understand the difference between sane drinking and alcoholism. “Sanity” is defined as “soundness of mind.” Yet no alcoholic, soberly analyzing his destructive behavior, whether the destruction fell on the dining room furniture or his own moral fiber, can claim “soundness of mind” for himself.

 

Therefore, Step Two is the rallying point for all of us. Whether agnostic, atheist, or former believer, we can stand together on this Step. True humility and an open mind can lead us to faith, and every A.A. meeting is an assurance that God will restore us to sanity if we rightly relate ourselves to Him.

“The disease that tells you you don’t have a disease.”  Irrational is a mild term for the way I acted when I drank.  We see so many people who are beaten and broken and failing and losing who don’t want to admit defeat.  I didn’t want to, because I could imagine a life without alcohol.  That life would be terrible.  It would be much worse than no life at all.

Today I do things that are destructive to myself, and I may be too easy on myself because these things don’t compare to the major life change I made when I stopped drinking.  But because I have that experience to fall back on, I know that by rightly relating myself to a higher power I can regain sanity in these ways also.

And thus ends Step Two for me, for now.

Leave a Reply

