August 11, 2015 (this day)

IMG_0453

A picture from a previous vacation.  I’m on vacation again, and trying to lessen my vacation anxiety, which finds many objects to attach itself to.

I went to one of the smallest AA meetings I have ever been to on this vacation.  There were two people there aside from Carole and I.  They said that they were trying to build the meeting up again.  We had a meeting of sorts for a while.  Carole and I have looked at the meeting list for this area many times, and I’m struck by how few meeting there are and how far people have to travel to get to them.  I’ve probably shared this before, but I’ve lived in several places in sobriety.  Five actual distinct areas, one of them very rural and some distance from a very small city.  But I have always had abundant, nearby meetings and so I’ve really had my choice.  I’m always grateful, but at times like this I’m super grateful.  AA without a choice of meetings like that is something I have never had to deal with.

I

3 thoughts on “August 11, 2015 (this day)

  1. I’m fortunate enough to live in an area w/a ton of meetings to choose from too, at all hours of the day and all days of the week. I’m also very active on an online forum, and I’m always struck by those who say they have only one local meeting, and any other choice is an hour’s drive away. It sure makes me grateful for what I have!

  2. When visiting my brother in a large city, I go to a meeting with 25 or more people at every meeting. Here, where I live on a small island, we have only 6 regular members, and many times in the summer we have only 2 or 3 people, total at meeting after meeting. Still, we keep meeting. We fill the time with readings and more than normal time to share. Sometimes small miracles happen when it’s just 2 people. I love the stimulation and the way large meetings can do step studies, with many participants taking responsibility. But at the same time, I value the cozy, intimate little meetings we have here.

    • I imagine it also keeps you very, very tolerant of the others at the meeting with you! We thanked the two people at the meeting for being there for us.

Leave a Reply

