May 17, 2015 (this day)

IMG_2702

Something old!  That’s me!!  On May 1 I marked 31 years sober in AA.

There are people, I know them, who want to go out most nights to meetings the way they wanted to go out to the bar.  There are people who need the endless repetition of the 12 steps and first 164 pages over and over and over again lest they lapse into alcoholic thinking.  I’m glad they are there and I suspect they form the backbone of AA.

That’s not me.  I drank at home and I prefer to be sober at home.  I get bored with the same material interpreted in the same way over and over and over again.  I need intellectual stimulation to keep my interested and yes, entertained.

I find all that in AA.  I always have, and I have hope and faith that I always will.

3 thoughts on “May 17, 2015 (this day)

  1. Your posts are always stimulating and helpful. The way you use the tool of writing is a blessing for me, and I suspect helps you at the same time. As a compulsive overeater, I eat at home and I prefer to stick to my food plan at home. Sweet thought!

  2. Amen! Yes, my home was my bar and dope den so it’s also got to be my sober center. I like meetings and especially like hearing new thoughts on the same-old but there are times I find going to the same meeting and hearing the same stories a bit… boring. It’s always nice to go visit a new meeting or have visitors come and hear a new take.

  3. Big congrats on 31 years! And I, too, identify with the drinking at home, being sober at home bit. Of course, having had a relapse only 6 months ago, I have my butt in a chair at AA quite often right now, as it should be. Love your posts. Thanks for being an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

