March 14, 2015 (this day)

IMG_0337Twelve months ago Carole and I were visiting our daughter for the first time in her new location, exploring, among other things, the “foreign” foods there.  I hated her being so far away and I didn’t love the place she went to, either.  She’s still there, and I have to call this year a huge success in terms of her.  She’s safe, she’s reasonably happy, she’s self-sufficient and embarking on an incredible adventure.  For the uninformed, a week in Greece, by herself, not part of any group or tour, and she doesn’t speak or read or have any knowledge of Greek.  For me, her mother, this is a bit of a nightmare.

___________________________________________________________________

I for myself am OK.  We’re ending a season of extreme cold and snow here, and I haven’t gotten to as many meetings as I would have liked.  The last bits of snow are melting and Carole is recovering from her most recent surgery and I’d like to get my meeting like back to normal.  Years ago, when I lived alone and had school-aged children at home in bed, I went to online meetings in addition to my once-a-week-bare-minimum real life meetings.  I met Carole there so I don’t recommend it.  I don’t think I’d have the patience for online meetings now, and the idea doesn’t appeal to me at all.  But I’ll do it again in the future if I can’t get out.  It’s amazing to think that when I started, there wasn’t online anything.  There were no cell phones, no text messages, no GPS to guide you to a meeting in a strange place.  Soon no one will remember when these things didn’t exist.  And in my personal universe, there was no daughter and my hypothetical, not-yet-existent children were in very real danger of being hurt or worse by my alcoholism.  I don’t know how that would have worked out of this daughter, but she probably wouldn’t be going to Greece.

Leave a Reply

