July 7, 2014 (this day)

IMG_3785Impending vacation!  I don’t like vacation, and I don’t like fun.  This is not a product of sobriety.  I have never liked fun . . .

 

My mother is dog sitting while we’re gone.  She lives over a thousand miles away from me.  On her way here, she visited my daughter, who lives in between us, over five hundred miles away from me.  I do not like these distances.  I wish everyone (including me) would stay put.  But we haven’t.

 

Helping, I don’t know how much I’m actually helping my work partner through her first year without her husband.  The year is full of anniversaries, the summer especially so for them.  It’s a busy time of year for me at work, and a hard time to go away.

 

I do not kid myself.  Anytime is a hard time for me to go away.

 

I went to an AA picnic at an amusement park on July 4, really because it fell on a Friday and I didn’t have to work the next day.  I had a profoundly peaceful feeling at the actual meeting.  During the sobriety countdown, I was a little perturbed at all the new sobriety.  I hope those people had fun and had it sober.  Fun!  If, of course, fun is what they like.

Leave a Reply

