Character Defects

This is my most important, life-long goal and quest, to rid myself, as much as possible, of my character defects.

 

Thirty years down the road of sobriety in AA, I hope I have minimized my character defects to an excellently low-level.  Humility prevents me from asserting that I have.  Regardless of how few and tiny my character defects are, I must continue to chip away at them.  I must.  I believe it makes me happier, the smaller they get, and that is the motive behind so much of what I do every day.  But I also believe that it keeps me interested in and engaged in AA in important ways.

 

I understand that it’s a severely defective character that will continue to engage in alcoholic drinking despite growing consequences and the ultimate chance such a person takes each and every time he picks up a drink – that he won’t be able to stop, that he’ll injure some innocent bystander, that he’ll injure himself in such a way as to make further choices impossible.  I understand mostly because I did it.  Also because I talk to people on a regular basis who do it.  Another blessing of AA.  I can see in them and in my former self the selfishness, childishness, anger, self-pity, and on and on that makes such a drastically bad lifestyle possible.  I had to change or die.

 

But now, the stakes are not so high, the consequences are not too drastic.  But it has definitely become a way of life.

 

Recently, my uncle died, and he had been on the alcoholic down slide for many years.  I didn’t try to talk to him about my solution (AA) until it was too late.  I called after he was probably dead, and I picture him there, dead, while my voice reaches out over the answering machine.  Too late.

 

I fully realize that even if I’d tried to reach out years ago, it probably wouldn’t have worked.  But it might have.  I’ve been thinking about what I do wrong for enough years now to know when it hits me hard.  I’m shy, I’m introverted, I’m quiet.  I don’t like confrontation.  I have a solution to the alcohol problem that I’m so quiet, I keep to myself?

 

So my oldest friend is having trouble with her daughter, and it took me an entire week to almost call her until I finally did.  Of course I’m glad I did.  Of course that’s the person I want to be.

 

I know that I have to do the actions that are frightening, uncomfortable, not me (the way I am now) to become the me I can and should be.  Just like the drinking me had to stop doing that.

 

I read my own list of character defects and try to concentrate on one at a time.  When I recognize that I’m engaging in it, I stop and take mental or actual note of the circumstances and, if it’s appropriate and not too late, I correct the action.  It’s my understanding today that it by acting in the way I know I should act that it will become second nature.  Maybe more.  It’s first nature to me today not to drink, and that is an incredible miracle.  Ask Isabel.  She was there.

Leave a Reply

