April 23, 2013 (this day)

IMG_0186A few days ago, Carole marked 17 years sober.  A few days from now, I will mark 29 unless something very drastic happens.

It’s completely amazing and incomprehensible, good beyond belief even though I’ve lived it one day at a time.

We had the privilege of trying to help someone sober up the other day.  This is someone we’ve known for years, and have tried to help for years.  She’s had periods of sobriety followed by not.

She spent part of that night on our couch, and it reminded me so strongly of one of my more colorful drunken escapades (story here).  Yet after I almost died, could have died, should have died, I drank again.  I so hope that our friend does not.  Anniversary time makes me reflective and grateful and incredulous.

4 thoughts on “April 23, 2013 (this day)

  1. You are so good to do that for your friend and I hope one day that I will be able to do that I`am 1 year+1 month sober yeha for that hope you have a lovely time for you sobriety birthday best wishes Fiona

Leave a Reply

