April 13, 2013 (this day)

IMG_0143Still not too much going on.  Today would have been my father’s birthday.  I’m not sure how old he would be.  He died in 1968, at the age of 33, from alcoholism.  I don’t go on about it much in real life, but this is my AA blog, and that is one of the most important happenings of my AA story.  He didn’t know me beyond 1st grade, he didn’t know my children at all.  He doesn’t know that his sister may be trying to do me out of my inheritance from his father.  He doesn’t know that his sad story may have been the pivotal point in my happy one.  I thought, growing up, that alcoholics died young, ugly deaths.  Many of them do.  I probably would have.  He did.

But I didn’t.  It’s too late now for me to die young!  Instead I’ll mark 29 years without a drink on May 1, God willing and the creek don’t rise.  My sobriety is not bullet proof.  I’ve been watching The Walking Dead, just a few episodes a year.  We just saw the one where Hershel goes back to drinking and I have to say that in the zombie apocalypse, I might also.  Since that hasn’t happened, I’ll go on.

I’ve had really really really good changes at work.  Really good.  The past few years have been good and getting better.  Mostly I think due to the person who is presently my boss.  I’m enjoying it.  It makes the hard times easier and I’m really optimistic for the whole thing.  It’s nice.

Tonight I’ll go to a meeting I hope to go tomorrow also.  Then on to another week of work and it’s ordinary and it’s good.

One thought on “April 13, 2013 (this day)

  1. Good on you for all the heartache and pain you re going through you keep on keeping on love the positive attitude and yes we can do anything with Christ who strengthens us bless you for your word today you have truly lifted me up.

Leave a Reply

