” . . . the well-understood fact that in God’s sight . . . ” (Step Twleve continued)

. . . the well-understood fact that in God’s sight all human being are important . . .

Like anyone, I struggle with understanding and placing, in God’s universe or the family of man or what have you, people who are truly evil.  I’ll leave that question aside for now.

And I’ll just claim and be grateful for my very liberal upbringing.  My mother has worked with people who have severe, multiple disabilities from the time I was five years old.  She’s also been a pretty much by the book bleeding heart liberal Democrat, so realizing the importance of people who I perceive to be somehow less than me, even as I know that concept is very, very, wrong – this has not been a problem for me.

The main part of my struggle takes place in realizing the importance of people who I perceive to be, well, intolerant, even as I struggle to tolerate them.  As I think that my philosophy, my politics, my religion, my spirituality is all superior to theirs, I know that I have just done what I accuse them of.  I am them.

 

2 thoughts on “” . . . the well-understood fact that in God’s sight . . . ” (Step Twleve continued)

  1. ” A.A. is not allied with any sect, denomination, politics, organization or institution; does not wish to engage in any controversy; neither endorses nor opposes any causes.”
    I love this part of the preamble and try, but not always with success to carry it over to as much as my daily life as is possible and it helps.
    I would consider myself mostly conservative, but by no means a right winger. I have actually learned a lot about life and tolerance through the AA program, unfortunately people not in AA do not have the tools for life that we have. My best friend outside of my wife is a woman a lot like you, I love her dearly, anyway one thing she always tells me is if I live the Big Book it could be an inspiration to other people not in the program, not really sure if it is but I’ll keep on trying.

Leave a Reply

