Troubles well accepted (Step Twelve continued)

. . . troubles well accepted or solved with God’s help . . .

I have a gratitude list and it is extensive.  More than one list, actually.  When I looked at this phrase I thought I would make a list of my troubles.  Sort of an anti-gratitude list, but not really.  I know that the ideal is to be grateful for everything, good and bad.  So the things that give me trouble are things to be grateful for as well.

From Dictionary.com:

difficulty, annoyance, or harassment
unfortunate or distressing position, circumstance, or occurrence; misfortune
So a list of my misfortunes, for which I am (or am trying to be) grateful.
  • I have a bad back and bad knees.  I will have them checked, if I live long enough.
  • I have a lot of trouble (ha!) sleeping.
  • I work with people who have severe, multiple disabilities, and their situations some times make me sad.
  • My mother is losing her eyesight.
  • I live in a polluted area.
  • I experience fear and difficulty while walking my dog.
  • I struggle with humility.
  • I can’t get legally married.
  • I’m having a very slow menopause (I know that’s an incorrect use of the word, but I like it).
  • I have a long and unpretty commute to work.
  • I have dental issues.
  • I (and in a separate matter, my kids) may be done out of an inheritance, or have to give it all to lawyers.
  • My dog barks too much.
  • My cat’s fur is too long.
Leave a Reply

