Action

I’m thinking about the actions I take, the things I actually do to maintain and improve my sobriety.

  • I go to one or two meetings a week.  Usually, hopefully two.  This works for me.  I’m an introverted loner and I’ve been to thousands of meetings.  Lots of people need more meetings, and that’s fine.  Also, I envision that if I’m lucky enough to retire one day, I will go to more meetings.  Meeting makers make it!
  • I read recovery things regularly, as in I always have one or two recovery books going.  Right now I’m reading The Varieties of Religious Experience and, again, The Little Red Book.  With Carole I’m reading The Greatest Thing in the World.  I always read more than one book at a time.  To me, reading one book only is like watching one television show, sort of.   These aren’t things I necessarily want to read, or enjoy reading.  I do it to sort of study this thing that I’ve made be the center of my life.
  • I still write out new prayers I’m trying to learn.  I rotate them in the sidebar of the blog and I take the time to actually write them out.  In the past, I’ve written them out by hand when I was having a particularly hard time of things.  I really haven’t memorized any this way, but I know that in times of terrible stress my mind reaches for them and they are there.  I’m also able to incorporate some of the messages of these prayers into my daily life, which I guess is the point.
  • I sponsor people when asked.  Right now that’s two.  I answer the phone when they call and put a lot of thought and prayer into how I can be helpful to them.
  • I speak at meetings when asked.
  • I’m the treasurer of my group.
  • I chair my group often which involves getting there early, making the coffee, buying the snack (which usually I can get Carole to do), setting up tables and chairs, getting a speaker.
  • I always help clean up my meeting and make sure the doors are locked, lights are out, etc.
  • I read recovery blogs.
  • I write – this!

Looking at this list, I’m wondering how much time it takes me each week.  It is truly the best time I spend.

One thought on “Action

  1. Thank you for taking the time to put up words of incouragement.
    I have been sober for four months but only going to aa meetings for 3 months.
    I am finding it hard to come up with reasons to continue in this life, I started the meetings on the hope that a relationship would heal but alas that is not to be.
    Now I must look inwardly to find the reason.
    Before my last relationship I was alone for 13 years of that I was sober for 7 years some of this time was with God and there were some good times.
    I have started writting letters to my sponcer and friends just incase I don’t find a reason to continue.
    Untill then I will keep going to meetings.

Leave a Reply

