When By Devoted Service (Step Twelve continued)

When by devoted service to family, friends, business, or community we attract widespread affection and are sometimes singled out for posts of greater responsibility and trust, we try to be humbly grateful and exert ourselves the more in a spirit of love and service.  True leadership, we find, depends upon able example and not upon vain displays of power or glory.

Now this is humbling.  I can’t say that widespread affection has ever been something I’ve had to deal with.  I have been given responsibility and trust at work, and what I’ll say about this now is that I’ll try to carry this sentiment, of exerting myself more in a spirit of love and service, into the actual workplace tomorrow and every day, one day at a time.  AA continues to inspire me and to make me a better person.

Leave a Reply

