Acceptance 6.4.12

. . . unless I accept life completely on life’s terms, I cannot be happy. I need to concentrate not so much on what needs to be changed in the world as on what needs to be changed in me and in my attitudes.

I do believe that this is true.  However, “life’s terms” include things that are wrong, that shouldn’t be, and that I should try to change.

There’s a popular saying around these parts that goes something like “just because I accept something that doesn’t mean that I like it.”  And that’s true, to a point.  I’m short, I accept it, and I don’t like it.

But I believe that I will be truly serene and almost completely evolved when I do actually like it, as well as accept it.

“Life’s terms” that I have to accept include, I believe, chance, and accidents, and pain and suffering for some who seem like they really don’t deserve it.  But dwelling on and failing to accept these things prevents me from being happy.

This all leads up to the second part of the quotation for me.  I do need to work to change things in the world, I do.  But mostly I have to work on changing myself and my attitudes.

What needs to be changed in me and my attitudes?  Well the change I needed to make to stop drinking was a drastic change, and a drastically needed change.  Changes in me are much smaller and much slower now, though it still goes on.

So when I’m having an excess of negative emotion, the place I look first, last, and longest, is at me and my attitudes.  No matter what the outside circumstance is, the change that promises me serenity and happiness is the change that takes place in my mind.

One thought on “Acceptance 6.4.12

Leave a Reply

