A.A. Has Many Single Alcoholics

A.A. has many single alcoholics who wish to marry and are in a position to do so.  Some marry fellow A.A.’s.  How do they come out?  On the whole these marriages are very good ones.  Their common suffering as drinkers, their common interest in A.A. and spiritual things, often enhance such unions.

“Common interest in A.A. and spiritual things . . . ”  I like that!

I’ve been married twice in AA, and divorced once.  I do believe the next sentences in the 12 and 12 will address a lot of what was wrong about my first marriage, or more specifically, what was wrong with me.

But now.  Carole and I met at an online gay AA meeting, and I wouldn’t meet her in person until she had one year sober.  A technicality!  We have been together for 14 years, which is a good record for anyone these days.

We are very different in many ways, but I think the thing that we share in common the most is AA.  And I think that’s a more valuable thing to share than a high school, a neighborhood, a sport, a hobby, an office, or any of the other places people meet each other.

There are drawbacks to this situation (like when she is wrong and won’t promptly admit it : – ) but I think on the whole it is really wonderful, and I’m blessed and lucky to be a part of it.

One thought on “A.A. Has Many Single Alcoholics

  1. I hate it when I’m wrong and won’t promptly admit it. I suffer, believe me! And I hate it when you’re wrong and won’t promptly admit it. I suffer then too! : P

Leave a Reply

