November 6, 2011 (this day)

A regular at my meeting is dying.  This man stopped drinking for good a few months after I did, so we are both from the class of 1984.  He was over 50, and I’m now almost 50.  Now, as his death approaches, he is over 80, with 27 years of continuous sobriety.  Truly a victory over alcohol.

It has been comforting to me to have him at meetings with me, someone else who stopped drinking the same year I did.  And for other reasons, because he was a good guy.  But for that reason most of all.

Because really, it’s all about me, right?  Well this blog is, and those are my thoughts today.

One thought on “November 6, 2011 (this day)

Leave a Reply

