A History of Gay People in Alcoholics Anonymous (literature as a tool)

I read this book, A History of Gay People in Alcoholics Anonymous From the Beginning by Audrey Borden a few months ago.  I got it for Carole a few years ago, and she started it but didn’t finish it, and I finally took it back and read it.  And that shows the number one problem with it, to me, it’s kind of boring.

My experience of being a gay person in Alcoholics Anonymous is limited to the last 15 years.  For a while, I was a straight person in AA.  I started going to gay AA meetings before I met Carole, but in an admittedly liberal suburban area of a major US city.

Once I moved to be with Carole, I was presenting myself as a gay person in AA.  Of course Carole knew lots of gay people in AA.  This time, we were in a suburban and urban area of a smaller city, but still near a city.

I’ve had no problem at all being gay in AA.  I do believe that the people in AA are some of the most accepting people in the world.

The book describes some problems that people have had, being gay in AA.  It tells about some of the first gay meetings, and the struggle many of those meetings had to be accepted into main stream AA.

I learned, reading it, that the man in Big Book who has an addiction more terrible than alcohol was gay.  I had truly thought he was a heroin addict.  Silly me.

The book is a very important record, but it is rather dry to read.  I had to read it a little at a time, otherwise my mind would wander.  It left me, most of all, with that very important ingredient of good sobriety:  gratitude.

4 thoughts on “A History of Gay People in Alcoholics Anonymous (literature as a tool)

  1. I am a gay woman in AA. I’m single and find that there are only a handful of gay AA’s here. Mostly all good friends of mine. Its frustrating to not be able to meet sober gay women. There are some gay AA meetings about 80miles from where I live, but I don’t know where they even are specifically. I’m OK being single, but when I’m ready to date, I have no idea where to meet sober women 😦

  2. As you know Lydia, I live in a very isolated area and don’t get to meetings often, but I have found many lesbian, gay, bisexual friends in AA both locally and online. And I talk about special interest groups and the need for them when I do get to meetings.

    So glad to hear Don’T Ask, Don’t Tell is finally ended.

Leave a Reply

