24 Hours a Day

How often

  • Am I alcoholic?
  • Do I need to remember I’m alcoholic?
  • Do I need to follow the program?
  • Do I need to live the program?

These are not bad things.  These are wonderful, life-giving things.  I wouldn’t minimize someone else’s experience with illness or tragedy.  I won’t compare it to some other kind of survival.  But if I forget in a big way, for a long period of time, I’m doomed.  If I forget in a small way, for a short period of time, I’m diminished.  My life is of a lesser quality than it is when I remember.

Yesterday, at work, my office was chosen for the place to store all the alcohol and lottery tickets that were to be raffled off today for fund-raising.  All day long I had a giant cooler packed with booze in my office, and two different times someone handed me a bottle.  One of those times, it was wrapped in a brown paper bag, the type of which I don’t see very often but which I guess people still use to disguise their alcohol.

I peeked inside.  It was a bottle of rum.  Right there, in my hand.

How bizarre.  I hope the person who wins it doesn’t get into trouble with it.  For once in my life, the bottle of rum I was holding caused me no problems at all.

Leave a comment