Tradition Six

An A.A. group ought never endorse, finance, or lend the A.A. name to any related facility or outside enterprise, lest problems of money, property, and prestige divert us from our primary purpose.

The few pages that explain this tradition talk about the problems that did and could arise as AA as an organization and AAs as people publicly identifying themselves get involved in education, hospitals, laws and other important and well-intentioned endeavors.  From here, from now, it’s easy to see why any of that has the potential to destroy AA, so I’m very grateful that none of it succeeded before, and that we now have the Traditions to guide us away from that.

At my meeting last night, the topic was “the tool that keeps you sober” or something like that.  One man said that last Tuesday, he tried to go to a meeting that wasn’t there.  He then headed to another meeting, and it, also, wasn’t there.  He knew of course that many churches had activities last Tuesday, the day before Ash Wednesday, but he reflected on what it would like if AA was to cease to exist.  It sounded to me like a good Twilight Zone episode and it is something I hope I never live to see.  I had a slight argument with someone (who will not be named) about who would brew the coffee for that meeting, and ultimately I decided that I’m honored and privileged and grateful to open the door and make the coffee and keep the meeting going for, I hope, alcoholics who have not yet even been born.

 

2 thoughts on “Tradition Six

  1. I too hope the meetings are still there for those who are out Practicing as well as the ones yet to come can Find a way out as we have, As for The tool that keeps or got me “clean and Sober” I believe you touched on it, The Traditions, for those are what keeps the doors open so that they were open and A.A. was there when I needed it, Even though I didn’t think I did at the time. Thank God and thank the wisdom that created the Traditions. May you continue to allow ‘the god of your understanding” to love, guide and protect you always

Leave a Reply

