And Can We Bring New Purpose (Step Twelve continued)

And can we bring new purpose and devotion to the religion of our choice?

Good question!

I’ve written a lot throughout the blog about my experience with religion.  Short version, I was born and sort of raised as a half-assed, half-hearted Lutheran.  I was forced to go through with confirmation against my will, and after that I left the church, and pretty much God, for good.  Through many years of suffering not being able to stop drinking within the program of Alcoholics Anonymous, I came to accept a higher power and even to return to church.

I want to say I returned in an abbreviated form, but that’s not accurate, since I got married in the church, had my children baptized there, attended there and even taught Sunday school to the little ones.

Around my mid-30s, I thought about leaving the Lutheran church, since I was not fully participating.  I could never get behind sacraments, for example, or creeds, things like that.  I started to look into the Quaker religion, since I think it most closely resembles my thoughts about these things.  But I fell in love and met my wife (in that order) and she was president of a Lutheran congregation, and so I stayed.

Now thirteen years have gone by, and as I come upon this question in my considerations of the Twelve and Twelve, I’m again thinking about the Quakers.

So, in answer to the question posed, I would have to say that yes, definitely, I was able to bring new purpose and new devotion to the religion of my choice.  The fact that I can even choose, or have any capacity to hope or believe, is due to the program.

Now, I know that it is character defects that keep me from exploring the Quakers more fully.  I’ve attended a Quaker meeting three times, I’ve read a book or two.  And that’s it.  I do believe it is ego holding me back.  Twisted, stupid, ridiculous and useless ego.

One thought on “And Can We Bring New Purpose (Step Twelve continued)

  1. When I was a young child, I remember my mother stating she was mad at God for taking her husband in 1964. I was born in 1963. I always remembered that so I too grew up angry at God. I began my alcoholic life at around 16 and some 30 years later, receiving my final and felony DWI, while locked up, I decided to change something. This change was the acceptance (Step 1) that I am an alcoholic. I also accepted God into my life. For the past 9 months, I have joined a church and am an active member / media volunteer and my life has never been better. 18-months sober in February! Don’t know why I shared this, but I’m obviously following your wisdom. Thanks for being there!

Leave a Reply

