January 23, 2011 (this day)

Moving beyond acceptance.

Things are troubling me, things too pitiful to mention.  One just sad, one just stupid.

The topic at my meeting last night was “acceptance.”  Oh what I said!  There quickly came the expected comment that we don’t have to “like” what we accept.  Well, OK.  But honestly, I usually have trouble accepting only bad things.  The good things usually meet with my approval right away.

So then to take a “bad” thing and say, “I don’t like it, but I accept it,” is, to me, a lie.  I don’t like it, I don’t accept it.  I don’t accept it as being as it should be, or even as it is.

Now some things are too awful and too terrible to accept.  I’m not talking about those things.  I’m talking about the vast majority of things I have difficulty accepting.  These are not pestilence, death, poverty, disease, war, and the fact that bad things happen to good people.  Some things are truly unacceptable.

No there are people, places, things, circumstances and realities that are much more mundane with which I struggle.  Listening to myself, I must surmise that I should take out some tools of the program and get to work on these things.  I can list my gratitudes around them.  I can look at their good qualities again and again and again.  I can move my mind on to something else and not dwell.

Leave a Reply

