November 11, 2010 (this day)

I love “modern ruins” and when I saw this boat, named “Chaos,” left in ruins that way, I had to take a picture.  I wonder when I see things like this what happened.  Did the person know, when she left the boat there, that she would never take it out on the water again?  Did he intend to sell it, or use it, or let it rot?  Did she have enough money that it meant nothing to leave it there and let the rain and snow and leaves collect?  There were other boats there with trees growing out of them, so deep was their collection of mulch and debris.  Chaos indeed.

We passed this boat yard when we were walking on a river trail.  It was beautiful, and I really love this time of year when it’s not too hot and not too cold.  The walks are a bit of an effort to put some exercise into the chaos we’ve created in our lives of too much food and not enough movement.

One of Carole’s medical tests is tomorrow.  If everything goes well with that test, or I guess even if it doesn’t go well, she may be able to make a time for the surgery she didn’t get to have when she was being tested to see if she could withstand the surgery, and it was found that maybe she couldn’t.  While all this has been going on, a different test on her revealed something else that needs to be looked into.  The line is getting quite long and I really hope that this is a short, concentrated time of tests with good results followed by uneventful good health for a long, long time.  Don’t we all hope that?

It’s on my mind sometimes that I am awfully dependent on Carole.  “We” this and “we” that.  “We” have been together for 13 years, living together for 12.  “We” hang out with a lot of single people.  “We” know some couples, also, but lots of single people. For my part, since I was 16, I spent about seven years single before I became half of a couple with Carole.  I don’t think she’s been single for more than a few days since she was very, very young.  I’ve never lived alone.  When I was single, I had two small children, so not a lot of time to dwell on my singleness at all.

So one day I might have to face the end of this relationship, hopefully by death of one of us and hopefully a long, long, happy time from now.

Leave a Reply

