October 12, 2010 (this day)

I’ve been reading Eckhart Tolle (a tiny little bit at a time, that stuff is rough) and trying more and more often to appreciate the exquisiteness of now.  I’m on my back porch with my fancy lap top.  The weather is totally and completely perfect.  I’m home from a good day at a job I love.  Mostly.  It was a good day there.  Except for chores, I have no obligations until I have to be back at work tomorrow morning.

Carole and I came back yesterday from a long weekend with Erika.  She’s more settled in, she’s working very hard, and she has a good attitude about it.  She pointed out, in between studying most of the days and nights, that she’s being paid to go to school, and that if it was easy, everyone would do it.  A really good attitude about an exciting and difficult adventure.

Her attitude is good about many things like credit cards and politics.  Not so good about her health.  She seems sick to me, and she hasn’t connected with a doctor, even though she does have health insurance.  We took Erika to a favorite local eatery of hers and asked one of the lesbians running the place to recommend a doctor, which she did.  It was all I could not to call the doctor myself for Erika, but I didn’t.

When I was her age, she was a toddler and I was pregnant.  At my son’s age, I was sober and pregnant.  I can’t believe I’ve had the benefit of AA and sobriety for all this time.

And, oh yeah, I’m thinking about joining NaNoWriMo and writing a novel next month.

Leave a Reply

