Consequently, In Step Three (Step Twelve continued)

Consequently, in Step Three we turned our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.  For the time being, we who were atheist or agnostic discovered that our own group, or A.A. as a whole, would suffice as a higher power.

Sometimes I hear nutty anti-AA stuff that claims AA suggests an atheist or agnostic choose anything as a higher power, including a tree, rock, or inanimate object.  This hasn’t been my experience.  I was certainly agnostic and anti-religion when I came in.  It was suggest to me that I view the collective wisdom as expressed by the members of AA as a higher power, since they had solved their drinking problem, and I had failed to solve mine.  Worked for me.

The turn of the will, as I see it, is a commitment to try once, then again and again, to do the right thing.

2 thoughts on “Consequently, In Step Three (Step Twelve continued)

  1. I agree. It always disturbs me when someone tells a newcomer that they can choose a doorknob as their Higher Power – a suggestion I have heard more than once. That better be one heck of a doorknob.
    Equally bad is the suggestion that the newcomer try their sponsor’s Higher Power. This runs right up against the fact that it is a program of rigorous honesty — and the one place you better be very honest is in determining what Higher Power you are going to rely on. There will come a time, one of those 3 AMs when something really hard has happened (sick loved one, financial troubles, whatever) and you will need to call on that Higher Power. You better really believe in it. And I can’t see anyone turning to a doorknob when their spouse or child is seriously ill.

Leave a Reply

