In Step Two We Saw (Step Twelve continued)

In Step Two we saw that since we could not restore ourselves to sanity, some Higher Power must necessarily do so if we were to survive.

I was listening to part of the Big Book today, and I was struck by the number of times “hopeless” was used.  The concept seems to simple.  I could not restore myself to sanity.  I see it in the people I know who struggle time after time and year after year.  The proposition of if we were to survive was very iffy indeed for me when I was drinking and I would not have survived much longer, I’m sure of it.

I didn’t think at that point that a Higher Power could or would restore me.  I gave up hoping for that.  And by that surrender I was able to start building a real life where there was no war going on anymore.

Leave a Reply

