August 8, 2010 (this day)

I’m waiting to go to church, then Carole and I are going for a brunch she won playing golf.  She’s saying it to celebrate our 5th anniversary, the anniversary of when we got married in the church, if not in the state.  This past June we marked 13 years together.

The photograph was taken at our meeting last night.  I asked someone to lead who I’ve known I guess the whole time I’ve lived here, so for about 12 years.  I knew we had lots of things in common, but last night I was amazed.

This is part of what I love about AA.  No where else in my life, really, except very occasionally would I get to know so well and “identify” with a woman like Elizabeth.  No where else in my life was I told to and taught to “identify” with anyone at all.

Elizabeth and I also have many differences, but among our shared details:

  • we are approximately the same age
  • we are approximately the same height (an unusual height, or lack thereof)
  • we grew up with little supervision (for very different reasons)
  • we started drinking at approximately the same age
  • we got involved with an older man
  • we stopped drinking at approximately the same age and within three weeks of each other
  • so we have been sober for 26 years
  • we broke up with our man (I went on to another, oh well)
  • we identified as gay
  • we have a long-term relationship with crazy women.  Elizabeth used the term “wiry” to describe them.  She and her partner have been together, I think, for almost 20 years.

How cool is that?  Very cool, and further proof that I am not unique.  I’ve heard thousands of “stories,” I’m sure, by this time.  How much richer my life is for it!

One thought on “August 8, 2010 (this day)

Leave a Reply

