March 7, 2010 (this day)

I need to take more pictures.  Since my computer gave up, all the pictures I have on this new computer are of snow.  The snow was truly awesome.  It’s been above freezing for days now and the snow is still piled high all around.  It’s a good thing that it’s melting slowly since there is the danger of floods.  For the first time in I don’t know how long, some grass started to show in the yard where I had dug paths for the dogs.

Yesterday I took my last antibiotic for my so-called sinus infection.  I had felt so sick for 10 days, due, I think, to the medicines.  It’s now been almost exactly 24 hours since I’ve taken any kind of drug whatsoever.  I’m  not all the way better.  I still can’t face coffee!  But I do believe I’m on the road to being completely fine.  Tomorrow, if the melty stuff hasn’t frozen over, I may try to walk the dog before work.

Carole has taken some students to England and she’s calling it work.  My work partner is in Florida.  They’ll be back Thursday and Friday.  Last Friday, when I was getting ready to leave work, our dog walker texted me that she had stopped by the house to walk the dogs a second time, and not to hurry home.  The message I had been waiting for all my life!  Too bad I am married.

I made it to my meeting last night after probably two weeks away from meetings.  Aside from all the dreadful program possibilities of drinking and slipping and God knows what else, I had missed the ritual of going and the people who I see there.  I’m so glad AA has been part of the rhythm of my life for so long.  Last night there were two older people there who we know and love, and who have a hard time getting to meetings due to conditions of their age.  I hope I’m always able to go.

And tonight my mother called me.  This being Sunday, it’s a favorite day of hers to drunk dial the family.  She was bad.  I am so grateful that my children have not experienced this kind of call coming from me.  One day at a time, for the rest of my life, I plan that they never will.

2 thoughts on “March 7, 2010 (this day)

  1. Carole has taken some students to England and she’s calling it work.

    Excuse me? Monday through Thursday ARE work days, with the students doing site visits and Dr. H and I visiting them as they visit!!!

  2. “Too bad I am married.”

    Excuse me, again? Marriage is a very good thing, and how else would you have learned to be as “ok” as you are walking the dog, if not for your wife? And also, how would you afford to pay for that puppy sitter? Huh? I do beg your pardon…..

Leave a Reply

