Now, What of Prayer? (Step Eleven continued)

Now, what of prayer?  Prayer is the raising of the heart and mind to God–and in this sense it includes meditation.  How may we go about it?  And how does it fit in with meditation?  Prayer, as commonly understood, is a petition to God.  Having opened our channel as best we can, we try to ask for those right things of which we and others are in greatest need.  And we think that the whole range of our needs is well defined by that part of Step Eleven which says:  “knowledge of His will for us and the power to carry that out.”  A request for this fits in any part of our day.

I need to update the page I’m keeping of some of the new prayers I’ve found and tried to work with.  I rotate them on the sidebar and so I write them out again and again, plus I see them when I look at the blog.  I’ve kept the white binder going and I take it to work with me each day.  I still write out prayers in long hand at times at work, and there’s a section of the notebook I keep with me that has just these prayers.  So even if I can’t write them, I can read them.  I’ve also started keeping quotes, prayers, poems and such that have to do with overcoming fear in the same book.

I hope that the prayers I’ve chosen do, in essence, ask for knowledge of God’s will and the power to carry that out.  I’ll look with more of an eye toward that over the next little while.  Today’s fits the bill, I think, and it helps me focus on aspects of the equation of God’s will and the power.

  • An Evening Prayer – C. Maud Battersby

    If I have wounded any soul today,
    If I have caused one foot to go astray,
    If I have walked in my own will full way-
    Good Lord, forgive!

    If I have uttered idle words or vain,
    If I have turned aside from want or pain,
    Lest I myself should suffer through the strain-
    Good Lord, forgive!

    If I have craved for joys that are not mine,
    If I have let my wayward heart repine,
    Dwelling on things of earth, not things divine-
    Good Lord, forgive!

    If I have been perverse, or hard, or cold,
    If I have longed for shelter in Thy fold-
    When Thou has given me some part to hold-
    Good Lord, forgive.

    Forgive the sins I have confessed to Thee,
    Forgive the secret sins I do not see,
    That which I know not, Father, teach Thou me-
    Help me to live.

Leave a Reply

