A Bridge (prayer)

Buddhist Prayer of Peace

May I become at all times, both now and forever, a protector for those without protection, a guide for those who have lost their way, a ship for those with oceans to cross, a bridge for those with rivers to cross, a sanctuary for those in danger, a lamp for those without light, a place of refuge for those who lack shelter, and a servant to all in need.


Perfect!  I brought my binder of prayers to my work meeting.  The stress of today is a change.  Change upsets everyone.  Some in a good way, most in a bad way.

There are oceans and rivers to cross.  What should I be?  A bridge, a ship.  Reading it this morning, in the meeting, I could see it.  The change should be easier on everyone because I am here.

That sounds self-centered and prideful, but I am in a unique position to help things go well.  To help.  The outcome is not in my hands, but the way I conduct myself on the journey is.  And my conduct could, in a small way, actually change things.

That’s so nice and clear.  But the predicament isn’t.  If the change is a bad one, I think I’m called to work against it.  If the change is a good one, I think I’m called to help it succeed.  I am often quite mistaken about what’s good and what’s bad here.  And just now, I really don’t know.

Leave a Reply

