When Such Thoughts Break In (Step Eleven continued)

When such thoughts break in, we might recall, a little ruefully, how much store we used to set by imagination as it tried to create reality out of bottles.  Yes, we reveled in that sort of thinking, didn’t we?  And though sober nowadays, don’t we often try to do much the same thing?  Perhaps our trouble was not that we used our imagination.  Perhaps the trouble was not that we used our imagination.  Perhaps the real trouble was our total inability to point imagination toward the right objectives.  There’s nothing wrong with constructive imagination; all sound achievement rests upon it.  After all, no man can build a house until he first envisions a plan for it.  Well, meditation is like that, too; it helps to envision our spiritual objective before we try to move toward it.  So let’s get back to that sunlit beach–or to the plains or to the mountains, if you prefer.

I was very much there while reading and writing this until we got back to the beach.  Then I said, “Shucks!”

I certainly understand the concept of imagining something I am going to create or build.  I might sort of imagine a blog post before I write it.  I also sort of imagine a successful plane flight, a successful return to home after a successful vacation.  I imagine successfully walking the dog.  I imagine what the scarf will look like before and while I crochet it.  When I was at Disney World, and afraid of Space Mountain, I imagined and envisioned being on line, boarding the thing, sitting there, having fun, completing the ride.

Not quite sure how this will lead me to a spiritual objective.

Leave a Reply

