We Will Intuitively Know How to Handle Situations (promises)

We will intuitively know how to handle situations which used to baffle us.

intuition – –noun

1. direct perception of truth, fact, etc., independent of any reasoning process; immediate apprehension.
2. a fact, truth, etc., perceived in this way.
3. a keen and quick insight.
4. the quality or ability of having such direct perception or quick insight.

For me there can be no question that the fog of alcohol made understanding anything pretty impossible.

I love the paradoxes of AA and alcoholism.  “The trap door had become a trap.”  I thought I understood things better under the influence.  I thought it made me calmer and turned down some of the noise in my head so I could just go along with things better.  I can see now that it clouded each and every thing in my life and put my understanding further back each time.

More recently, I know that as I live longer and experience more I grow in understanding and appreciation.  For me, getting older in time and older in the program work together, I think, to reveal more to me about the way the world works and how I can work within it.

As an example, I often find that first thing in the morning at work is difficult for me because of tricky staff scheduling.  Because I see it as difficult, I’ve tried to apply what I can from the program to that situation and hopefully I get better at it and less distressed.  The situation won’t change but me thoughts about it can and will.

As I try to become a better dog walker, I work on my internal thoughts and the way I handle the dog.  As I read books and watch shows about dogs I increase my understanding of them and I improve my ability to “handle situations.”

There is the passage of time, and essentially the passage of time that is sober and clear.  There’s also the philosophy of the program that makes me want to improve all situations, and gives me a framework to use and help with using it.

Leave a Reply

