My Unbelief

From Mark 9

21Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?”

“From childhood,” he answered. 22“It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.”

23” ‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for him who believes.”

24Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

For a long time, I have used the verse “Lord, I believe!  Help Thou my unbelief” as a sort of meditation.  It is in the book I found while I was panicking about flying, the one I took on the planes and the one I need to find again for the planes.  Although thinking about it just now, I’ve decided to re-collect some meditations for that occasion.  So I looked up what came before those lines and this is what I found.

I understand the logic behind “I do believe, help me believe.”

I understand that we have a different understanding of illness than they had in Jesus’ day.  I know human beings will not know the true nature of things that occurred during that time, during my life time.  Maybe people in the future will be able to see the past.  Everything is not possible for him who believes, or at least no one who believes at the level I have personally witnessed.  I know people who have claimed miraculous healing, perhaps brought on by belief and prayer.  Maybe that did happen for them.  I don’t get to know.

Was the father saying that although he did believe, if he didn’t believe enough to allow the miracle, he wanted to believe enough?

I believe I can get over my fear of flying enough to fly comfortably one day.  I do not believe I will be supernaturally spared from being in a plane crash, just that experiencing a crash is highly highly unlikely, and that if I do die that way, there’s nothing I can do about it.  I don’t want to spend another minute of my life being afraid of this!

Help Thou my unbelief.  I have concrete evidence in my life that believing the people and the program of AA transformed and saved me.

Leave a Reply

