To Certain Newcomers (Step Eleven continued)

To certain newcomers and to those one-time agnostics who still cling to the A.A. group as their higher power, claims for the power of prayer may, despite all the logic and experience in proof of it, still be unconvincing or quite objectionable.  Those of us who once felt this way can certainly understand and sympathize.  We well remember how something deep inside us kept rebelling against the idea of bowing before any God.

This was certainly me.  From the time of my first meeting to the time of my last drink, six years passed during which I attended AA heavily and had some short periods of sobriety.  It wasn’t until I had failed again and again and just about couldn’t function that I tried prayer at all, as part of my last resort.

Leave a Reply

