Having So Considered (Step Ten continued)

Having so considered our day, not omitting to take due note of things well done, and having searched our hearts with neither fear nor favor, we can truly thank God for the blessings we have received and sleep in good conscience.

The step is “Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it.”  And these are the final words of the text.

Looking back, I see that I started writing on this step in February.  February!  That really shocked me.  I had the feeling that I’d been at it for a month or two.  Not even three.  Certainly not eight months.  All spring and all summer.  Yikes.

The step forward I’ve taken, that I can see from here, is that I’ve come to try to link an excess of negative emotion with a character defect of mine.  I hope this brings me a little closer to understanding “my part” in difficult situations and relationships.  Just looking for “my part” brings me up empty sometimes, when I feel I’m right and I’ve been wronged, but linking that feeling to a character defect of mine helps me focus on me in what I hope is a meaningful way that will help me improve.

Leave a Reply

