September 12, 2009 (this day)

july09 033That may or may not be my kids on a roller coaster.  My daughter was 24 on September 10.  Future shock indeed.  By the time I was her age, I had her, a cat, two years of sobriety and I was about to move very far away from home.  I can’t honestly say I wasn’t doing well, but she is doing so much better.  I don’t know what the future holds.  That’s probably more frightening for someone like me who has heard how many thousands of personal stories over the years.  How many have I seen not end well?  I remember hearing that if we knew what the future held, we wouldn’t be able to handle it, but one day at a time, we get through.  Till we don’t.

Tonight is the fourth anniversary of the group Carole and I started.  It’s a great group.  But I don’t like parties.  But I’ll go and be happy anyway.

Yesterday was the anniversary of September 11, 2001, and we had a sort of ceremony at work.  I felt blessed that I was with those people then and I’m with them now.  I’m very lucky I’ve had that history and consistency that I love.

President Obama’s speech to the congress increased my love for him.  Again, a true blessing to experience this in my life.  People who know me or follow the blog know I was a huge Hillary supporter, still am, but I see that he may be able to get much more cooperation than she would have.  I might was well look at it that way.

Carole and I are off to explore a trail with the dog before getting ready for the meeting.  Today it is all good.

Leave a Reply

