Someone Who Knew What He Was Talking About (Step Ten conintued)

Someone who knew what he was talking about once remarked that pain was the touchstone of all spiritual progress.  How heartily we A.A.’s can agree with him, for we know that the pains of drinking had to come before sobriety, and emotional turmoil before serenity.

I’m grateful that I got introduced to this concept so long ago.  It did have to hurt like hell and just about destroy me before I was able to get sober.  I just read a meditation that pointed out that even birth itself is a painful, violent process.  And nothing is possible without birth.

For me it’s part of “don’t quit before the miracle” that I came to want the program, in addition to needing it.

Now I seek to hurt less and change sooner.  But still, without pain, I don’t seek to change at all really.

One thought on “Someone Who Knew What He Was Talking About (Step Ten conintued)

  1. I have found that pain in and of itself is a signal oftentimes from the universe for us to grow, to push forward or through something. Since being sober I still have pain, but today I see it as more of an opportunity rather than a misery…great post..don’t quit before the miracle indeed.

Leave a Reply

