It’s a Poor Day Indeed (Step Ten continued)

It’s a poor day indeed when we haven’t done something right.  As a matter of fact, the waking hours are usually well filled with things that are constructive.  Good intentions, good thoughts, and good acts are there for us to see.

I nostalgically look back to when people tell the newcomer that getting out of bed and going to a meeting were good things and they were good enough for that day.

I’ll try to list in an unprideful manner the things I do every day that are good things.  I get out of bed and almost always make the bed.  I tend to my body by at least brushing my teeth twice a day.  Usually I do more for my body than that.  I show up at work when I’m supposed to and usually, often, most of time I try to do the right thing there.  I’ve tended my children every day that I’ve needed to.  That isn’t frequent now but of course at one time it was a 24/7 thing.  I take care of my pets and my surroundings (to a large extent).  I pay my bills and I pay my way.  I got to my home group AA meeting almost every week and I take on responsibility there.  I usually go to one other AA meeting each week.

I answer the phone when my mother calls.  I go to church (often).  I recycle some.  I give a little bit to charity (Carole will say huh?  But we sponsor a child, give to the church, and I often supply things for my workplace, which is a nonprofit receiver of charity).

This is all truly unremarkable unless I consider where I came from, which was basically under the table, passed out on the floor.

Leave a Reply

