25 Years and Counting

Two days ago I marked 25 years since my last drink.   I have some thoughts about that.

Every day since then has been a gift, given to me by God or fate or chance, but truly given, because it’s nothing I worked for, earned or deserved.

At this point I would not give up AA or recovery for anything, and I’d do all I could to preserve it, if it was threatened.

I often have the most sober time in the room at meetings.  I try to remember the people who didn’t make it.

I can be proof that it works over a long period of time.

Last night someone said that she is grateful for the people who keep coming after a long time, so that AA is there for the new people.  If it wasn’t for new people, I would have been alone in that room last night.  If I had made it this far without them, which I wouldn’t have.

I try to remember and appreciate the founders and early AAs and to learn more about the history.

It’s the most important thing in my life.  Without it, nothing else was possible.

It works.

5 thoughts on “25 Years and Counting

  1. Way to go Lydia!

    I can share the feelings of gratitude for reprieve from a condition that prior to AA, was considered a hopelss state by most medical and religious beliefs.

    Sigmun Freud considered chronic alcoholism untreatable.

    Yet the gift of AA and the 12 Steps has helped millions like us.

    So congrats for being blessed to be a part of this.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

  2. Congratulations!

    I have about 3 years sober and would not trade them for the 20 of drinking. Sobriety has to be the chief priority for us and I am grateful for your example.

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Congratulations Lydia! Amazing what one day at a time can add up to. Who could have imagined that all we would have to do is follow directions. Thank God for AA.
    Blessings, Coni

Leave a Reply

