There’s the One Taken at Day’s End (Step Ten continued)

There’s the one [inventory] taken at day’s end, when we review the happenings of the hours just past.  Here we cast up a balance sheet, crediting ourselves with things well done, and chalking up debits where due.

I don’t think I’ve ever done this, and I know I haven’t done it formally for any amount of time.  I know from reading, and I don’t know if it’s written in this step or not, that I am to ask myself if I’ve been angry or jealous or dishonest or mean.

The thought of doing this every day does not appeal to me, and I’ve sat here trying to picture fitting this in every day, when and where I will do it, and how.  I have to give it a go though.  I’m on the search for more serenity and better living, and I can’t disregard the instructions, no matter how distasteful they seem.

When all else fails, follow directions.

I’ve reached into a cubby in my desk and pulled out a blank notebook.  I don’t know when I bought it or what is was for, but it’s now to be a daily written inventory.  I’ll probably take it to work with me so I can note things as they occur.  I will do this for 90 days beginning tomorrow, then see after that time if it’s profitable, if I need to continue, or if it’s worked its way into my routine.

Leave a Reply

