A Continuous Look at Our Assets and Liabilities (Step Ten continued)

A continuous look at our assets and liabilities, and a real desire to learn and grow by this means, are necessities for us.  We alcoholics have learned this the hard way.  More experienced people, of course, in all times and places have practiced unsparing self-survey and criticism.  For the wise have always known that no one can make much of his life until self-searching becomes a regular habit, until he is able to admit and accept what he finds, and until he patiently and persistently tries to correct what is wrong.

I’ve aquired a few habits and a few understandings through the years.  For instance I know automatically and well that any time I’m upset, it’s because something is wrong within me.  I know that improving my character is a life long goal of mine, centered on minimizing and eliminating character defects.

I do have a problem with thinking about myself.  I don’t like to think about myself.  I know that excessive thinking about myself is a very bad thing.  So I probably don’t do it enough.  I’m also inclined to usually look at myself from the negative angle of what is wrong.

I also need a better understanding of the conecpt of acceptance, especially when I’m accepting something I don’t like.  That last sentence up there, saying that I need to accept what I find, then go about changing it, touches on that.

Leave a Reply

