For Every Thing There Is A Season (Words to Live By)

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven. – Ecclesiastes 3:1

I understand this in two different ways.  At times, I think there may be a larger plan for my life and the life of the whole world, and that things unfold according to that plan.  I may see only a very small part of a very, infinitely large picture.  For me to try and see this time as the right time for whatever occurs helps me “accept the things I cannot change.”

If I look at it in another way, things may not happen for a reason, but they happen when they do and are finite.  Like the season of my childhood is over, as is the season of my children’s childhoods.  Whether or not they have children is not preordained, but if they have them, those will have a season of childhood also.

I often wish for things to last longer than they do.  I don’t like change and I don’t like the passage of time in most of the ways that it happens.  When I accept the way that things are here, now – or even that they are here, now – I’m much closer to serenity.  I have to remember also to try to pay attention to the present, and to appreciate it as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

