November 8, 2008 (This Day at This Time)

october08-082october08-081What a difference a day makes!  I took these pictures two days ago, and today most of these leaves have fallen, and it’s cold and gray out.  It’s been really good weather for the past four seasons.  The fall has been warm and sunny, the summer wasn’t too hot too often, spring was warm and not too wet, and last winter we didn’t have much snow, and no big snow storms.  Part of the reason I know that has to do with the girl pictured above.  We adopted Xandra a year ago at the end of July, and the mud last fall made me just about nuts.  It hasn’t been that bad since, and I know I didn’t get to see her in a big snow yet, and I wonder how she’ll react.

One of the meditations I read said something about this change of season making things more visible.  That’s very true in my house.  When the leaves are there, they obscure two sides of the view completely.  When they’re down I can see so much more of the world outside the windows.  I know the nutrients are returning to the earth (also known as mud).  I’m trying to convince Carole to try mulching mowering the leaves rather than raking them and sending them to the land fill.  I’m not at all sure that’s the right thing to do, but it should be interesting to try.

Today is Saturday, and so far I’ve putzed around the house.  It’s after 11 and I still have my pajamas on.  Tonight is our meeting, and it’s my month to chair.  I’ve asked a fellow oldtimer to speak, and I haven’t heard her story, so I’m looking forward to it.  We also usually go out after the meeting, if anyone will go with us.  And actually part of the nice part about being sober together in AA is that we don’t need anyone else.  But it’s nice to have them.  Erika often also goes with us, and that just amazes me.  I never would have done that with my mother.  I really cherish these times she’ll be a part of my world.  I know it won’t last forever.

I have lots of work to do, mostly because my partner is on vacation next week.  I really like the work, and having lots of it to do actually makes me happy.  I’m also trying to step up my cleaning in anticipation of Thanksgiving.  My mother’s coming, as well as two friends from last year.  So far that’s it.  Since I moved here ten years ago, and really since my mother retired and moved away from my hometown, I can’t go home again for holidays, and this has to be my home now.  It’s a struggle for me.  I’m very glad those who are coming have accepted, and I hope more people will.  But whatever happens with that, I’m aware and grateful for all of my blessings.  The people who I know will be here and the most important people, and they’re all well and able to share this with me.  Next year may be different.

So cleaning, playing, working and going to the meeting.  Today is a very good day.  I’ll try to take that metaphor about being able to see more with the leaves down into my interactions with the chilly gray weather.

Leave a Reply

