The Chief Activator of Our Defects (Step Seven continued)

The chief activator of our defects has been self-centered fear — primarily fear that we would lose something we already possessed or would fail to get something we demanded.  Living upon a basis of unsatisfied demands, we were in a state of continual disturbance and frustration.  Therefore, no peace was to be had unless we could find a means of reducing these demands.  The difference between a demand and a simple request is plain to anyone.

The difference between a demand and a request.  I turn once again to my admission of my very blessed state.  I know I have no right to demand anything, or even to request it.  Should it all go awful for me at this moment, I’ve still had way more than my share, regarding the human condition.

So, self-centered fear.  Honestly this isn’t resonating for me big time at this moment.  I do fear loss, but it doesn’t ruin my day.  My demand (at work) that I have an impossibly wonderful situation, yes, I can see how that has balled me up.

Leave a Reply

